Signatures

Discussion in 'Announcements and Feedback' started by MaggieMae, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    I have no problem with what's said, or pictures, because I usually read/see them once then ignore them anyway.

    But I wish there was a way to permanently delete some of those great big long ones that stretch out the screen for an entire page of postings so you have to navigate back and forth across the screen to read all the text posted by everyone else. Is there?
     
  2. Ravi
    Offline

    Ravi Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    81,320
    Thanks Received:
    12,692
    Trophy Points:
    2,205
    Location:
    Hating Hatters
    Ratings:
    +29,759
    You can permanently turn everyone's sigs off, but not selected ones. There is supposed to be a rule on size but it is only sometimes enforced.
     
  3. Mr. H.
    Offline

    Mr. H. Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    44,104
    Thanks Received:
    9,264
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    A warm place with no memory.
    Ratings:
    +15,387
    Some of the animated sigs are hilarious but bog down pages.
     
  4. Big Black Dog
    Offline

    Big Black Dog Gold Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    22,906
    Thanks Received:
    5,107
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Ratings:
    +5,702
    Here just lately, the doctor told me to cut back on the sigs... I mean cigs. I get so confused.
     
  5. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    I just turned it off, but now I'll wait to see if an entire page doesn't get expanded anyway. Hopefully that will take care of it. Thanks.
     
  6. Si modo
    Offline

    Si modo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    41,538
    Thanks Received:
    6,382
    Trophy Points:
    1,810
    Location:
    St. Eligius
    Ratings:
    +8,703
    Those big sigs used to stretch out my page, too, when I used Internet Explorer. Now I use Firefox. It's smart enough to contain those sigs in the window as I have sized it. I am sold on Firefox.
     
  7. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    I've tried to download Firefox and no one can figure out why the download will only allow me to get so far. (I've even asked for and followed advice here.) I get the message:
    FIREFOX IS CONFIGURED TO USE A PROXY SERVER THAT IS REFUSING CONNECTIONS

    I have Verizon DSL, and the only thing I haven't tried is reloading that whole system and starting from scratch, but IE8 has been working fine for a few months now, so I don't worry about it anymore. I only use this computer for a few things anyway.

    Thanks. I wish I could do Firefox (or even Google Chrome, which I haven't tried yet).
     
  8. Jeremy
    Offline

    Jeremy TRANSFER!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    7,777
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Ratings:
    +1,190
    Is this better?
     
  9. uscitizen
    Offline

    uscitizen Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    45,941
    Thanks Received:
    4,791
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    My Shack
    Ratings:
    +4,807
    It is much nicer that way Maggie. I have had mone turned off since I have bveen on here I think.
    Why keep reading the same thing over and over.
    Kinda like watching political pundits.
     
  10. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    What? If you have a long horizontal signature, I wouldn't see it now anyway because I've unchecked that option.
     

Share This Page