Firefox installation help

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MaggieMae, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    Okay, what am I doing wrong:

    Installation wizard gets so far, then gives me this message:

    FIREFOX IS CONFIGURED TO USE A PROXY SERVER THAT IS REFUSING CONNECTIONS

    I've checked the LAN settings, and they are correct.

    I've checked the protocol settings, and they are correct.

    I even thought Windows firewall was blocked installation, to I added Firefox as an exception.

    I use Verizon DSL and that's fine too.

    I still get the error message.

    Actually, I was planning to install Google Chrome, but noted they still have a few bugs so I'm holding off on that. But in the meantime, I've still been using IE only because I've had to do several restores due to virus attacks and I just left it.

    Now I'm ready to install Firefox, and can't do it.

    WTF?
     
  2. strollingbones
    Offline

    strollingbones Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    65,620
    Thanks Received:
    15,620
    Trophy Points:
    2,190
    Location:
    chicken farm
    Ratings:
    +31,926
    you know more about this than i know...sorry i cant help
     
  3. Baruch Menachem
    Offline

    Baruch Menachem '

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    14,204
    Thanks Received:
    3,235
    Trophy Points:
    185
    Ratings:
    +3,305
    go to Chrome. Firefox seems to be heading downhill. Chrome is less buggy.

    You really need to avoid IE. It is a virus magnet.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  4. Middleman
    Offline

    Middleman Defender of the month

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,907
    Thanks Received:
    289
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Northwestern United States
    Ratings:
    +289
    I agree. Firefox seems to make the simplest actions more complicated. I went to Chrome and have been very pleased.
     
  5. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    Tell me about it...
     
  6. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    Several months ago, after yet another virus attack, I actually did start using Firefox, but then got hit with one there, too. As I said, Windows XP provides only IE, so in order to download anything else, I have to use that, at least for startup. Then I get lazy and don't remove it, which is my own fault.
     
  7. Harry Dresden
    Offline

    Harry Dresden Latinum, Plantinum,Silver,Gold Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    52,010
    Thanks Received:
    6,950
    Trophy Points:
    1,860
    Location:
    Nv.
    Ratings:
    +13,647
    i agree here Maggs....i use Fox and Chrome..... Chrome works good for me....Fox seems to crash a lot lately....i hear Bing is supposed to be nice too....
     
  8. Harry Dresden
    Offline

    Harry Dresden Latinum, Plantinum,Silver,Gold Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    52,010
    Thanks Received:
    6,950
    Trophy Points:
    1,860
    Location:
    Nv.
    Ratings:
    +13,647
    why so many virus attacks?.....what kind of security do you use?....and what are you doing to let these things in?....:eusa_eh:
     
  9. xsited1
    Offline

    xsited1 Agent P

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    17,750
    Thanks Received:
    5,299
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    Ratings:
    +5,306
    You shouldn't need proxy settings. Tools/Options/Advanced. For Connection, select 'Settings' and check 'No Proxy'.
     
  10. MaggieMae
    Offline

    MaggieMae Reality bits

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    24,043
    Thanks Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +1,601
    I've tried several, and finally started using AVG about four months ago. But that "securities update" virus designed to look like a Windows application still managed to get through AGAIN. I also have a program that scans the registry, which I do every day, because there is still a "piece" (if I can call it that) of that virus that latches onto my desktop startup program which removes all my settings. Pain in the fucking ass. I heard yesterday that last year alone, there were 340 million virus attacks reported on home computers.
     

Share This Page