AVG / AdAware conflict?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MikeK, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. MikeK
    Online

    MikeK VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8,970
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Lakewood, New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +1,252 / 0 / -0
    I use the free AVG anti-virus program. I've been advised to download AdAware and SpyBot to clean out a lot of unwanted stuff.

    My question is will any of these programs conflict?
  2. Mad Scientist
    Offline

    Mad Scientist Subtle like a Nuclear Weapon! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    19,568
    Likes Received:
    3,889
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Trinity Site
    Ratings:
    +3,928 / 1 / -0
    I've used SVG once and had a problem with it too. Since then I've used comodo free anti-virus/firewall on my PC and LapTop with no problems and no conflicts.

    Download Antivirus Software
  3. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    4,184
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Trinidad, Colorado
    Ratings:
    +4,186 / 0 / -0
    I use Avast with either CCleaner or SpywareBlaster. Stopped using AVG a few years ago when I realized it was getting as swollen as Symantic in code and resource requirements. It also failed to stop the '2000 antivirus' virus, had to buy a removal tool to get rid of that nasty little piece of code.
    Comodo has somewhat mixed reviews but is still considered a good system by most.
    Comodo Internet Security - Free software downloads and software reviews - CNET Download.com
  4. Paulie
    Offline

    Paulie Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    22,375
    Likes Received:
    3,171
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +3,171 / 0 / -0
    I go raw dog, and i download porn all day long from seedy websites.

    I'm still kickin!
  5. hortysir
    Offline

    hortysir In Memorial of 47

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    15,593
    Likes Received:
    2,883
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lakeland, FL
    Ratings:
    +2,883 / 0 / -0
    Like Ringle, I use Avast.
    But when I did have AVG I never had any problems with Spybot.
    I never used Adware. I just use AdBlockerPlus and Stop-Script add-ons for Firefox, so I never even have to see potentially dangerous ads
    :D
  6. Quantum Windbag
    Online

    Quantum Windbag VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    57,144
    Likes Received:
    4,877
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Ratings:
    +4,898 / 14 / -0
    They will not conflict unless you get the pro version of Ad Aware and want to use AdWatch, which is a real time monitoring function. Even then all that will really happen is your computer will slow down. You should also try a couple of the other programs selected, as nothing finds everything.
  7. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    26,447
    Likes Received:
    4,184
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Location:
    Trinidad, Colorado
    Ratings:
    +4,186 / 0 / -0
    Also you can save the hassle and frustration of using No-Script simply by adding Ghostery and Adblock with Firefox and get the same protection results. I also use the WOT add-on (Web of Trust), it's great when you're doing a search.

Share This Page