Who gained the most from the Angle-Reid debate

JimH52

Diamond Member
Oct 14, 2007
US
I did not watch it, but have heard different opionions. I think Reid blew it with his, "I was a successful lawyer..." answer when she questioned how he became so wealthy, while in Congress.

Opinions?

I saw parts of it. Sharron Angle definitely softened her message and was quite effective in attacking Reid. Reid on the other hand stayed on the defensive. He called her "extreme" but really wasn't specific about exactly what she was so extreme about. Don't get me wrong, Angle, while, poised somewhat was very awkward. She said stuff like "It's not your job to create jobs. It's your job to create policies that allow small business to create jobs." Harry let stuff like that fly right by.

Add in expectations were so low about Angle, merely showing up was a bonus.

I give it to Angle..but only slightly.

I saw parts of it. Sharron Angle definitely softened her message and was quite effective in attacking Reid. Reid on the other hand stayed on the defensive. He called her "extreme" but really wasn't specific about exactly what she was so extreme about. Don't get me wrong, Angle, while, poised somewhat was very awkward. She said stuff like "It's not your job to create jobs. It's your job to create policies that allow small business to create jobs." Harry let stuff like that fly right by.

That is what I have summised. She held her own, even if she had to back off of some of her extreme stances. She learned to moderate. It was a toss up, which means a loss for Reid, who needed a knock out. As long as she keeps her head low and doesn't blert out her real positions, she will probably win. Anything can happen though...