This is one of the cost issues in healthcare.

mskafka

Silver Member
I am a paramedic, and I can tell you from personal, and frequent experience that this INDEED is an issue and a major contributor to the high cost of healthcare. This is no exaggeration. Make you angry? It should.

Most of us approach all patients with the intent of transporting them. We are afraid to tell them that EMS isn't warranted, because we are opening ourselves up for civil and even criminal liability. And it's one thing to truly believe that something is terribly wrong, but it is quite another to call EMS because you don't feel like sitting in the waiting room in the ER. (yes, we hear this often) But we cannot refuse to transport anyone who wants to be transported. No matter how minor the problem. Sniffles, a 15 year old who threw up (once) from eating too many chili dogs (concerns about their vomiting in mom and dad's car while en route to ER....yes it happens).

Emergency medical systems all over the US are trying to improve their response times. So when there are more calls (no matter the type) more ambulances are going to be budgeted. More ambulances=more employees, more benefits, salaries, training, uniforms (for some services), and higher taxes. Do the math. It adds up.

An article from money.cnn.com:

911 abuse: Calling with the sniffles
Chronic abuse of 911 for non-emergency issues is wasting billions of dollars every year and overwhelming the safety net of health care. And taxpayers are left with the tab.

NEW YORK (CNNMoney.com) -- People struggling with headaches, toothaches, and even feelings of loneliness are calling 911 -- often several times a day.

This chronic abuse is overwhelming what industry experts call the 911 "safety net" system. It's also wasting what could add up to billions of dollars every year, paid ultimately through higher taxes and medical fees.

This costly problem has gone unnoticed in the current debate on health care reform.