The New Left

Tigerlils13

Rookie
Feb 20, 2009
This is my first time joining a political forum. It is my desire to gain fresh incite into the issues affecting us in this day and age by participating in healthy discussion with people outside of my customary circle. As signified by my thread’s title, I am of the leftist persuasion, but I hope that I shall be found to be as open minded as I believe myself to be!

This is my first time joining a political forum. It is my desire to gain fresh incite into the issues affecting us in this day and age by participating in healthy discussion with people outside of my customary circle. As signified by my thread’s title, I am of the leftist persuasion, but I hope that I shall be found to be as open minded as I believe myself to be!

Well you're a rare breed on these boards. Welcome aboard. Are you sure you're a lefty? Are you upset with Obama sending more troops to Afghanistan? Do you believe in Obama and if so, what does that mean to you.

Welcome.

This board is pretty right wing, so we need all the lefties we can get.

Haha, yes, I'm sure that I'm a left wing, anti-NRA, big government, pro-Universal healthcare liberal=P
If it's any consolation, I've been told several times that I actually show conservative tendecies, but I hope those comments were only made in jest.
I shall openly admit that I've heard little about Obama sending troops to Afghanistan, but that I agree with the idea. However, I have my doubts. I am guessing that many of these troops have been pulled out of Iraq. While I believe that gradual withdrawl from Iraq is utterly necessary, I am not firmly supporting sending these troops to Afghanistan, particularly if these troops have already been subjected to several tours of duty, which is a problem being encountered with increasing number. I believe that the psychological needs of our troops must be thoroughly looked into before we can, in good faith, send them to an entriely different country on yet another tour.