States' rights vs. "culture of life"

Discussion in 'Health and Lifestyle' started by Mariner, Jan 18, 2006.

1. Mariner

Mariner Active Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +52
    I'm curious where people here come down on the issue of the Oregon suicide law, which pits two conservative principles against each other--states' rights and the "culture of life."

Personally, as a physician, I am extremely wary of this law. Major Depression is a treatable disorder which causes at least 20,000 suicides a year. I do not feel convinced that having two physicians examine someone is sufficient to conclude that 1. the patient only has 6 months to live and 2. s/he does not have a Major Depression. Furthermore, it's too easy for me to imagine family situations where pressure would be applied to end things early, for others' benefit, e.g. a quicker inheritance or life insurance payment.

In other words, I'm with Bush, Scalia, and Thomas on this one--that's a first for this Cambridge liberal!

Here's one news report:

Supreme Court Upholds Oregon Physician-Assisted Suicide Law

By Peggy Peck, Managing Editor, MedPage Today
    January 17, 2006

WASHINGTON, Jan. 17 - The U.S. Supreme Court today upheld Oregon's 1997 law allowing physicians to aid in the suicide of terminally ill adults. The court's decision was by a six-to-three majority.

The high court decision was a defeat for the Bush administration, which had vigorously battled the Oregon law even after it had already been upheld in two lower Federal courts. The administration argued that physicians who prescribed drugs to help patients end their lives were violated federal drug interdiction laws-the laws used to prosecute drug dealers.