Sirius vs. XM: Which satellite radio is best?

rtwngAvngr

Jan 5, 2004
And why? I'm thinking of getting one or the other.

"Input!"

Music-wise, I've heard both are almost identical (IE, both have almost the same exact types of music channels). Sirius has more MLB coverage whereas XM has more NFL coverage.

But, I'm pretty sure the biggest drawing point would be whether you want to hear Howard Stern or not. Sirius has 2 Howard channels. XM has Opie and Anthony, though, who I actually like a lot better than Howard, or at least I used to when they were on regular radio, I've never heard them on XM.

Well for what it is worth I have used both. I picked Sirius about a year ago for three reasons.

First: The music choices and news choices were similar but Sirius has NFL and XM has Nascar as the big draws. AS an OTR truck driver I obviously wasn't gonna be watching games.

Second: At that time Sirius was cheaper both hardware and subscription.

Finally: Sirius (again at that time) could be easily moved from vehicle to vehicle without extra expense. XM required either hardwired or an expensive extra docking station.

Obviously stuff has changed a bit over a year. Hope this helps.

I'm not a satellite radio subscriber, I listen to online radio stations at work and at home....

I see that XM and Sirius both have the same feature i.e. you go to their respective website, type in your username and password and listen in over the Internet.

Of course, I'm probably hogging bandwidth on my company's network and it will probably get filtered out at their firewall eventually....

Still... the nice thing about streaming audio is that all you need are a pair of headphones, no CDs to change and carry to and from work, plus the selection is very diverse. Many stations have a free channel (with commercials and lower quality) and premium channels (without commercials and higher quality)

I like www.radioio.com but I've listened to www.live365.com and www.di.fm, too