Okay, that was weird

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ringel05, Dec 29, 2011.

  1. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,209
    Thanks Received:
    8,000
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,314
    Booted my primary computer and got a 'windows did not load' message followed by a automated repair program. When it was done windows loaded but was excruciatingly slow for about five minutes then seemed to work fine. Just restarted and it booted like nothing had happened. Never seen that before. :dunno:
     
  2. PeteEU
    Offline

    PeteEU VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Malaga region, Spain
    Ratings:
    +54
    Check the hard disc... seen it before, and it was a failing hard disc.
     
  3. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,209
    Thanks Received:
    8,000
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,314
    I wouldn't be surprised, hard drives and graphics cards are usually the first to go and I have some IT friends who swear the 7200 RPM drives die much faster than any of the others. I'll run the diagnostics (which I already planned to do) and check my back up to see if it's current then order a new drive.
    Thanks.
     
  4. Iridescence
    Offline

    Iridescence BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,695
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +268
    gremlins
     
  5. Sallow
    Offline

    Sallow The Big Bad Wolf. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56,535
    Thanks Received:
    6,132
    Trophy Points:
    1,840
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +7,394
    Run a virus diagnostic. Post haste.

    You may want to consider re-installing your operating system.
     
  6. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,209
    Thanks Received:
    8,000
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,314
    Windows........ :eusa_whistle:
     
  7. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    40,209
    Thanks Received:
    8,000
    Trophy Points:
    1,830
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +17,314
    Ran Avast, Malwarebytes and Stinger, all come up clean.
     
  8. iamwhatiseem
    Offline

    iamwhatiseem Gold Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14,818
    Thanks Received:
    3,114
    Trophy Points:
    260
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ratings:
    +6,098
    Sounds like something either at the front of the drive or a Windows registry blip.
    Can you still run fdisk /mbr in Windows 7?
     
  9. Iridescence
    Offline

    Iridescence BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2,695
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    US
    Ratings:
    +268
    Avast is what I had been referred to as a beginner.
     
  10. PeteEU
    Offline

    PeteEU VIP Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Malaga region, Spain
    Ratings:
    +54
    That command has not been valid for windows since at least Windows XP if not before as far as I remember.. might be wrong

    bootsect /nt60 C:/ should be the correct command now days for windows 7 if you plan to fix the masterboot record... Although I doubt it is that.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011

Share This Page