Nuke the oil well

bucs90

Gold Member
Feb 25, 2010
Just a thought.....and left wing environmental nuts go "ear-muffs" for a moment, you won't approve.

Why not nuke the damn hole? I'm not a weapons expert, but wouldn't a nuke, right down the pipe, a mile deep far out into the ocean, do the trick? Any oil in there would be burned up, the rock around it would collapse and melt together probably. Nothing else is working, why not just nuke the damn thing? Sure, some fish would die. Seriously. Send a NAVY sub in. Drop a nuke right on top of the damn hole, blow the shit up, hole is sealed, Obama can take full credit.

I like the idea, honestly......just a little suitcase nuke.
I thought I read someone else suggest it about a week ago.

I'd rather nuke it now than have a hurricane give me a tarball shower this summer :lol:

My idea got moved to "humor", I don't know why, it was serious. Nuke the thing. Vaporize the oil and what rock is left will be molten and collapse around the well. It's very deep, and far offshore. Seriously. Do we have many options left?

Our current track leads to AUGUST at the earliest, if then. What if that fails? And the next idea? What if a NAVY admiral comes out in November, with oil still flowing, and says "Back in May we could've nuked the hole and sealed it permanently, but that wasn't politically attractive to anyone."

Anyone have any other ideas? It appears BP and Obama are fresh out of them.

The nuke thing won't work. It belongs in humor. It wouldn't stop the oil, and it would create a massive tsunami. The Katrina storm surge was only 33' and nearly wiped-out NO. Keep thinking, but think your ideas thru before submitting. Some ideas are what they call "half-baked". There is no "bad idea", because it could lead to a better one, but that nuke one was close.

Last edited: