New Trucks in 07 will cost consumers millions!

Discussion in 'Economy' started by Emmett, Dec 31, 2006.

1. Emmett

Emmett Active Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +101
    I wonder how many of you are aware that you are about to get raped? In the Pocket! I mean raped!

Starting tomorrow all diesel fuel sold in the United States will now be mandated to be refined to a point of only 15 ppm of particulate matter. The new engines for 07 are mandated to have reuseable particulate filters (ceramic) which will clean the rest out of the fuel. The engines are heavier allowing less freight to be transported, the fuel has less lubricity resulting in damage to older engines and the trucks are 10 to 15 % more expensive not to say anything about the maintanence of these new techno marvels.

As many of you know I am a temporary truck driver and I can tell you that my 1999 KW with a Cat engine gets 20% less fuel mileage on the new fuel. Ouch!!!!! Twenty Percent!

OK, less mileage, no lubricity, heavier design, less freight per truck transported = your screwed. I have no numbers but I would imagine consumers will feel an immediate effect from costs being absorbed by the Trucking industry being passed on.

One of you article finders ought to dig up some info cause this is a good subject and we need some new material.

2. 90K

90K BANNED

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +64