My writing

Mr.Conley

Jan 20, 2006
New Orleans, LA/Cambridge, MA
Alright people, I've been posting with a surprising regularity for about 6 months now, and I need to ask a question.

My primary reason for posting on USMB is why writing skills. I unfortunately suffer from dyslexia. However, intense work and therapy on both my part and my parent's has enabled me to mostly circumvent the problem. My reading comprehension, though slow, is generally on target. However, my writing skills rely heavily on spell check and peer review. Tired of relying slavishly on other's assistence for the rest of my life, I asked my therapist how I could improve my writing skills. He suggested that regular, short written essays might help improve my ability. He suggested I search the internet for chatboards where I could forge my craft. Eventually this lead me here. In keeping with my plan, I try to write several articles each day. I immediantly type my responce, and don't spell check or review anything I've written for at least three days. I just write and post. I take the material to my therapist and review. He says that my abilities are improving, and this brings me to my question. What do you, as regular people, and as the most regular audience of my particular writing think? Have you noticed an improvement? How much? What are the problems? How does it read? Are there too many tangents? Is my writing too wordy? Is there a recurring grammatical problem? Is it too complex? Could my writing flow better?

Any comments are appreciated.

Mr.Conley said:
Alright people, I've been posting with a surprising regularity for about 6 months now, and I need to ask a question.