Monitor Change Question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by WillPower, May 14, 2019.

  1. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53,118
    Thanks Received:
    10,119
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +31,399
    Windows or Linux? Both have built in drivers for monitors.
     
  2. Tumblin Tumbleweed
    Offline

    Tumblin Tumbleweed Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Thanks Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    140
    Ratings:
    +1,696
    Do what you want. All I'm saying is if you bought a graphics card that would support it, digital would have much better resolution on your 23" monitor.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53,118
    Thanks Received:
    10,119
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +31,399
    According to the specs I read your's is supposed to have a DVI. :dunno:

    Never mind, you're plugging into a graphics card that doesn't support it.
     
  4. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53,118
    Thanks Received:
    10,119
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +31,399
    Whatever floats your boat. :dunno:

    I don't do the latest and greatest but I tend to have computers that are less than 10 years old and upgrade them every four to five years till I can't upgrade them any more. I use Win 7 and Ubuntu Linux, XP is far too limiting especial with video quality.
    Plus I build my own desktops.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
  5. WillPower
    Offline

    WillPower Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,098
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    150
    Ratings:
    +3,342
    Widows but Linux will be my next stop when support for 7 (on my laptop) ends at the end of the year. I kind of suspected I had a monitor driver(s) since I obviously had a Dell monitor when I bought it in 2008. Those drivers are still in the system...the Acer I'm still using didn't change the Dell drivers. The reason I started this thread was to make sure I didn't damage my graphics card by plugging this new boy into the box...I knew keyboards and mouses were p&p but wasn't sure about a monitor.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2019
  6. WillPower
    Offline

    WillPower Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,098
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    150
    Ratings:
    +3,342
    This box has been in front of me every day for 11 years...believe me, there's only the VGA...oh, and a dial-up modem just in case I wanted to leave Centurylink someday.....does MS still offer a dial-up?
     
  7. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53,118
    Thanks Received:
    10,119
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +31,399
    Yes, monitors are plug and play and no it will not harm your graphics card. That said the four items that fail most commonly are;
    Power supply
    Hard Drive (not the solid state ones)
    Graphics cards
    Optical drives (CD/DVD)

    Not specifically in that order.
     
  8. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    53,118
    Thanks Received:
    10,119
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +31,399
    I believe you, just telling you what Dell lists as the specs.
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  9. WillPower
    Offline

    WillPower Gold Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2018
    Messages:
    3,098
    Thanks Received:
    438
    Trophy Points:
    150
    Ratings:
    +3,342
    I have NVIDIA graphics driver 307.80/Inview 136.53 and Silverlight which I swear by...no matter how crappy the video is, I can tell when it kicks in and sharpens the image into focus.....Like I said, I'm happy with this set up....I can play board games with a Windows site (I'm banned at the moment) called "Zone.com" and the pinball game is fantastic. If I could combine the W98 feature of a popup window saying I had a new email, I'd never change...until this box blows up. The power supply on/off button has come loose so powering up takes a certain approach but other than that, it's still like new. I do have YouTube vids on my laptop to replace the items you mention from Amazon...there were so many of these machines made, after-market stuff is readily available.
     

Share This Page