Making life more difficult

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ringel05, May 9, 2018.

  1. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    54,464
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    Duke City
    Ratings:
    +32,760
    Have a Lenovo Yoga 2, 3 in 1 notebook and unfortunately it runs Win 10, had it off for a while (very common) and turned it back on earlier today to change the wifi passkey that I just changed yesterday....... "passkey is not correct" over and over despite knowing for a fact I'm typing in the correct passkey........ Clicked "forget" on my network (in the Lenovo), rebooted, same problem. The wife's Win 10 connected immediately yesterday when I updated the passkey on her laptop....... This is bull shit.
     
  2. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    54,464
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    Duke City
    Ratings:
    +32,760
    I also checked the drivers, all up to date.
     
  3. Fort Fun Indiana
    Offline

    Fort Fun Indiana Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    27,320
    Thanks Received:
    1,789
    Trophy Points:
    275
    Ratings:
    +12,554
    You should update your fhp to change the protocol being requested by your plci processor. Then, reinstall your K-group.
     
  4. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    54,464
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    Duke City
    Ratings:
    +32,760
    If you say so..........
     
  5. Bleipriester
    Offline

    Bleipriester Freedom!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,348
    Thanks Received:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    275
    Location:
    Santa Catalina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +6,408
    Check if the box demands the passkey and not something else.
     
  6. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    54,464
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    Duke City
    Ratings:
    +32,760
    Already did that. I can go back to the old passkey and it will work but that defeats the purpose of changing the passkey regularly.
    It appears, at least on the Lenovo, Win 10 has save the old passkey and won't let go of it. Been looking for a way to purge the old passkey via command prompt, no luck so far.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2018
  7. Bleipriester
    Offline

    Bleipriester Freedom!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23,348
    Thanks Received:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    275
    Location:
    Santa Catalina Mountains
    Ratings:
    +6,408
    Sounds like another "feature"...
     
  8. Ringel05
    Online

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    54,464
    Thanks Received:
    10,300
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    Duke City
    Ratings:
    +32,760
    Wouldn't surprise me.
     

Share This Page