Making life more difficult

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Ringel05, May 9, 2018.

  1. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    50,974
    Thanks Received:
    9,617
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +28,902
    Have a Lenovo Yoga 2, 3 in 1 notebook and unfortunately it runs Win 10, had it off for a while (very common) and turned it back on earlier today to change the wifi passkey that I just changed yesterday....... "passkey is not correct" over and over despite knowing for a fact I'm typing in the correct passkey........ Clicked "forget" on my network (in the Lenovo), rebooted, same problem. The wife's Win 10 connected immediately yesterday when I updated the passkey on her laptop....... This is bull shit.
     
  2. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    50,974
    Thanks Received:
    9,617
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +28,902
    I also checked the drivers, all up to date.
     
  3. Fort Fun Indiana
    Offline

    Fort Fun Indiana Gold Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2017
    Messages:
    15,643
    Thanks Received:
    1,102
    Trophy Points:
    265
    Ratings:
    +7,320
    You should update your fhp to change the protocol being requested by your plci processor. Then, reinstall your K-group.
     
  4. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    50,974
    Thanks Received:
    9,617
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +28,902
    If you say so..........
     
  5. Bleipriester
    Offline

    Bleipriester Freedom!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    20,317
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    275
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    Ratings:
    +5,565
    Check if the box demands the passkey and not something else.
     
  6. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    50,974
    Thanks Received:
    9,617
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +28,902
    Already did that. I can go back to the old passkey and it will work but that defeats the purpose of changing the passkey regularly.
    It appears, at least on the Lenovo, Win 10 has save the old passkey and won't let go of it. Been looking for a way to purge the old passkey via command prompt, no luck so far.
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2018
  7. Bleipriester
    Offline

    Bleipriester Freedom!

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    20,317
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    275
    Location:
    Home Sweet Home
    Ratings:
    +5,565
    Sounds like another "feature"...
     
  8. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    50,974
    Thanks Received:
    9,617
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    MIB West
    Ratings:
    +28,902
    Wouldn't surprise me.
     

Share This Page