Kathianne: Why do you hate France

Discussion in 'Europe' started by 8236, Aug 16, 2004.

1. 8236

8236 VIP Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +73
    War on 'terror'?

Why do you not hate Germany?

2. freeandfun1

freeandfun1 VIP Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +296
    Perhaps because the French have ALWAYS been self-righteous in their views.

As for the Germans, I myself have always enjoyed the Germans. Many of us vets have at least served SOME time in Germany and I think that, for the most part, most of us agree that during that time we did spend there, the Germans were pretty cool to us. Sure, the "outlook" has changed and they are not as friendly now, but I have no first hand experience of Germans being rude to me because I am American, but I have had experiences with French that have been rude to me for that reason.

3. Annie

Annie Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +4,770
    Surely I wonder why do I get asked these kind of questions? Why not SE or MB or DK? Never mind Jimnyc, we all know NOT to ask him this kind of question. Is it something I've done? Dang, for the most part here I am minding my own business, just reading and plugging away at some responses.

Well Mr/Ms Number, let me say that I don't HATE the French. I just do not believe they are a US ally, indeed, I believe they are at best a nuisance, at worst an enemy.

Actually, read this: http://www.usmessageboard.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10454
    and you'll see that my instincts were correct, the French were addressing this nearly 60 years ago.

Germany is a different kettle of fish altogether. I'm not so sure the German people care for US all that much, but their leadership does, Schroeder's pandering campaigning aside. See, even us conservatives are nuanced enough to get the difference.

4. MrMarbles

MrMarbles Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +28

Pot calling kettle black alert!!

5. freeandfun1

freeandfun1 VIP Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings: