Introduction / Obama and Clinton Aren't That Different

Discussion in 'Politics' started by SingingMongoose, May 12, 2008.

1. SingingMongoose

SingingMongoose Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hello!

I haven't been on a politics message board in years, so I'm not totally sure how to introduce myself. I'm a college student who likes green tea and mismatched clothing, which should be all you need to make a decent guess about my political views, hehe.

I suppose I'm here because I'm interested in politics, and remember being much better-informed when I spent my time arguing about it on the internet. It also helps that school's out for the summer, which gives me enough time to do stuff like this.

Finally, if I'm unwittingly breaking any rules, I assure you I don't really want to, and would love to know how to stop breaking them.

I think that about does it for an intro. I think it would be boring to just introduce myself, so I'll throw in my two cents on our country's two favorite left-of-center Democrats:

From MAPLight.org, the Top Ten Interests Donating to Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton...

Clinton:
    Attorneys and Law Firms - $18,017,518
    Retired - $9,037,375
    General commerce - $7,356,134
    Security brokers & investment companies - $4,450,348
    Schools & colleges - $3,063,884
    Real estate - $2,695,967
    Business services - $2,242,681
    Real Estate developers & subdividers - $2,013,705
    Real estate agents - $1,967,037
    Investment banking - $1,930,710

Obama:
    Attorneys & law firms - $15,515,104
    General commerce - $10,446,476
    Retired - $10,149,738
    Schools & colleges - $4,462,721
    Security brokers & investment companies - $4,090,001
    Business services - $1,782,227
    Civil servant/public employee - $1,778,497
    Real estate - $1,555,152
    Book, newspaper & periodical publishing - $1,483,892
    Investment banking - $1,396,930