I'm Not Sure This Emperor's Got Clothes

OldLady

Diamond Member
Nov 16, 2015
I work with a dyed in the wool progressive who can't help but spout the official party line on every topic, but even he -- in theater by trade -- is not trying to justify the furor over blackface costumes right now.
He and I agree, no question, that true blackface is an insult to blacks. But this is what Herring did:
In a lengthy statement on Wednesday, Herring, a Democrat, said he wore brown makeup and a wig in 1980 to look like a black rapper during a party as an undergraduate at the University of Virginia.

Herring was portraying Kurtis Blow. This is Blow's response:

Rap icon Kurtis Blow is outraged Virginia's Attorney General chose to "honor" him by wearing blackface.
Kurtis was on "TMZ Live" when he called out Mark Herring for being disrespectful, ugly and degrading when he wore blackface in 1980 as a 19-year-old college student at the University of Virginia. Herring admitted to dressing up as the rapper -- complete with "wigs and brown makeup" -- when he performed Blow's songs.

Kurtis Blow Ridicules VA AG Mark Herring for Blackface 'Honoring' Him

A celebrity/performer is OUTRAGED that anyone would dress up like him and do his rap.

But why?

My progressive friend looked at me and wearily said "Right now, any white guy who dresses up like a black guy is doing 'blackface.' " He doesn't get it either, but he says okay; he's a party man.

Look, it isn't like I stay awake at night thinking up ways to offend others. But this is beyond reason. Who are black people to have a rule that none may don a costume pretending to be a black performer? I am NOT talking about blackface. Explain how Herring is an example of blackface and why Blow is so outraged.

I remember when Imitation was the Most Sincere form of Flattery...

How times have changed