Ice Age coming...

dmp

May 12, 2004
Enterprise, Alabama
While watching The Day After Tomorrow, last night something stuck out to me.

There is a scene where Dennis Quaid is in a tent w/ another man, and they are discussing the Current Ice Age which is happening, and they mention nothing like this has happened for 10,000 years. The question is asked "We can survive this, but what can we do to prevent it from happening again?"

"We have to learn from our mistakes..."

Now...I'm not a scientist, and I'm not a bright guy...but...Since this was the SECOND ice age in 10,000 years, what do 'our mistakes' have to do with anything? We were not burning Fossil Fuels before the FIRST Ice Age. We didn't use Freon in our Cars...we weren't cutting down rain forrests, etc.

Should his line have been "Well, this goes to show that if the Planet wants an Ice Age to happen, it will happen in spite of us."?

Hey---is this one of those disaster movies that you can make fun of all the way through or is it too----liberal?

dilloduck said:
Hey---is this one of those disaster movies that you can make fun of all the way through or is it too----liberal?
Didn't see the movie but read the book based on the movie...the book was run through with tree hugger doctrine and mantra...

I'm not trying to shift this into a review of the movie - but to point a question...if we did nothing to 'harm' the evironment 10K years ago, what's to say anything we are doing now will stop or accelerate the 'next' ice age?

The movie isn't too awfully Green, btw...it's got a neat story line about a father's love for his son. :)

-=d=- said:
I'm not trying to shift this into a review of the movie - but to point a question...if we did nothing to 'harm' the evironment 10K years ago, what's to say anything we are doing now will stop or accelerate the 'next' ice age?

The movie isn't too awfully Green, btw...it's got a neat story line about a father's love for his son. :)