I just bought a computer any input on this

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Trinity, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. Trinity
    Offline

    Trinity VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,286
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +79
    I just bought another computer from a guy who had it custom built about 3 years ago, tell me did I get a good deal? here's the specs atleast the ones I can remember haven't got it set up yet guess I'll be working on that today.


    Made by Americomp Inc.
    1.1 GHZ
    40GB Hard Drive
    DVD
    CDR-RW
    3.5 Floppy
    256 MB Memory
    3D Blaster niviaTNT2 Ultra
    Sound Blaster PCI 128


    and Before you say anything keep in mind I am using a emachine that I bought new about 4 and half years ago that is

    633MHZ
    14GB Hard Drive
    DVD
    3.5 Floppy
    196 MB Memory (Upgraded myself) originally came with 64MB
    GE FORCE 4400 Video Card (Upgraded myself)

    Hard Drive on the new one has already been reformatted, Thank God, one less thing I have to do, However I do have to reinstall all of the drivers. Guess I know what I'll be doing today. WWOOOOOHHHOOOO I have more than enough system requirements for the SIMS 2!!!



    Oh I guess you want to know what I paid for it $125.00. Cheaper then upgrading mine or even buying a new one.
     
  2. DKSuddeth
    Offline

    DKSuddeth Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,175
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    North Texas
    Ratings:
    +62
    $125 isn't bad, although the 1.1 Ghz processer seems sort of old now. Overall I wouldn't bitch alot, especially if you still have the old one. Need any RAM? I've got loads of it.
     
  3. Trinity
    Offline

    Trinity VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,286
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +79
    Compared to the 633MHZ I figure it's somewhat faster then what I have now.
    As for the Ram, yes I may be interested. I have been wanting to add more memory to the old computer can't remeber the specs on it right off hand and may want to add more to this new one as well. My husband seems to think that the more memory we have the faster he'll be in his Delta Force game online, I keep trying to tell him as long as we have dial up you will always LAG.
    He just doesn't get it!
     
  4. drac
    Offline

    drac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    429
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +22
    Looks good for the money. The best way to check if price is ok is to visit some auction sites (ubid.com) or computer "building" shops around your area .
    What do you use your machine for? You probably want more memory if you run xp, but it might work fine depending on your usage.
    In general if you want to upgrade the memory it might be cheaper to get a better machine all together (same reasons you did not want to upgrade your old one)

    just my 2c
     
  5. wade
    Online

    wade Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems like a good deal for the money.

    You might be able to overclock it a fair bit too, it depends on exactly what CPU and Motherboard it has. ??? If you do, consider adding a fan or two to the case.

    I also make a fan out of the cardbord box for the fan, a case fan, and a plastic cup with the bottom cut off, stacked in that order, held together with plastic packing tape, which I can set on the floor of the case aiming up at the graphics card and memory area. If your up to it, this is a cheap way to greatly improve cooling flow.

    256mb is enough for Win98 or WinME, but really not enough for XP. Since you're obviously on a budget, Win98SE should be fine, but more ram is still a good thing if you can get it cheap.

    You will want to swap that 3D Blaster (Riva) Nvidia TNT2 Ultra for your GE FORCE 4400, that GeForce is a much much better card. The TNT2 is a good 3 or 4 generations behind that GF card.

    Good Luck,

    Wade.
     
  6. eric
    Online

    eric Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    First of all do yourself a favor and leave the processor alone. Overclocking is a hobby, nothing more, basically a sub-culture at best. I have been in this industry for 21 years and have yet to see any serious engineers I work with overclock anything. The slight performance increase will be greatly offset by heat problems, shortened processor life, and a host of other possible problems. As far as memory, 256 meg will be fine for most purposes, and you don't have to run windows 98SE either. Windows 2000 pro is currently the best choice and runs very well with 256 meg. Even windows XP will be just fine with that amount of memory, especially if you change the performance setting to adjust for best performance, and/or tweak the disk cache. Of course the more memory the better, until a point of diminishing returns, but you will be just fine.
     
  7. Trinity
    Offline

    Trinity VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,286
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +79
    Thanks for all the input guys! I am actually running Windows ME on it, and it seems to be running just fine. My biggest bitch is the lagging I get in my Sims 2 game, which I am figuring it has to do with the memory, if I bump it up to 512 Mb I am hoping that will improve game play. Please say it's so!!!
     
  8. dmp
    Offline

    dmp Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    13,088
    Thanks Received:
    741
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Enterprise, Alabama
    Ratings:
    +741

    Your best bet would be to improve the memory on your video card. :) I would have a card with less than 128MB RAM, much less the 32?MB on your current card.
     
  9. drac
    Offline

    drac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    429
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +22
    It is so :)
    a good video card is a plus (64-128 mb at least)
     
  10. wade
    Online

    wade Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I've also been "in the industry" for about the same amount of time (depends on when you want to count the start date). And I agree, overclocking is generally not done by pros - but we spend whatever $ it costs to get top of the line performance. However, some systems, in particular Celeron's, can be overclocked significantly without problems. In my experiance, most AMD's can be oc'd a fair bit (15%) without too much problems. I agree if you overclock you need to pay attention to heat issues - but I covered that by suggesting extra cooling. Since khafley didn't specify which cpu he had, and 1.1 ghz is about half or less the current typical processor speed, I suggested he might want to check to see if his setup is one that is suited for overclocking.

    Just to be clear, I'd not overclock any Intel part other than a celeron, which I would oc if recommended by an oc site, as often the clock speed listed on the part is only a pricing tool - the part itself may be identical to a part that is clocked at 50% higher speed. There are websites which go into detail on which parts can be oc'd successfully and how much.

    For AMD parts, espeically the earlier Athlons, oc'ing can be done IFF the user pays careful attention to heat. Typically gains of 20% can be had without too much risk, but there is definitely some risk any time you oc one.

    So in general, I'd agree - don't overclock. But if the choice is between oc'ing and scrapping the box - they give it a try. Just make sure to watch for heat and to test the system for stability (there are free tools for this).

    Finally, you say no one in the "industry" oc's. Well, that depends which industry. In the software development industry that is a given. But, in other related industries, it is not. As an example, I worked for a company which did a lot of 3D rendering, and we did oc systems for this purpose, often by as much as +33%. If the box is going to take 36 hours w/o oc'ing, and only 24 if you do oc, and there is a good chance the whole job will have to be redone again after the results are views, probably several times, it makes sense to oc. Of course, we had external wall mounted fans sucking cooled filtered air through those systems, and heatsinks added to almost every chip, something your typical home user is not going to do.

    Wade.
     

Share This Page