How to Get Around Typos on the Internet

Adam's Apple

Apr 25, 2004
Craig Crossman, National Newspaper Computer Columnist

OTHER PEOPLE'S TYPOS CAN SAVE YOU MONEY

I've been writing my newspaper column for nearly two decades. Yet with all that practice, I still make typographical errors. The colloquial term is "typo" and anyone who uses a keyboard has more than likely made their fair share. Typos are a way of life and some of them can be quite amusing. The ones that are just misspelled can easily caught by the obligatory spelling checker. But sometimes a typo can itself be spelled correctly and those are usually the slippery ones that get by even the most eagle-eyed editor.

Fortunately I caught one of my worst at the last moment. I was writing a review of a software product that would help to summarize documents. I originally wrote "If your paralegal or secretary is too busty to tackle those documents, your computer may hold the answer." It's amazing how just one little letter "t" in the wrong place can spell disaster. Take eBay for example. I was somewhat surprised to learn that eBay doesn't spell check their listings. So unless it's something really offensive or obscene, it remains just the way it's posted. And therein lies a secret to finding really great deals on eBay.