hidden partition. how do i reload my comp?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by sarahgop, Jan 28, 2011.

  1. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    943
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +121
    last year a friend of mine came over and reloaded my computer because it was running slow. hs said he could do it from a hidden partition. it was wiped clean and reloaded from this hidden partition. where can i find this on the comp and how does it work? i have windows vista and i watched him do it but cant remember how he got there.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2
  2. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16,615
    Thanks Received:
    3,008
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +3,008
    install ubuntu
     
  3. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    943
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +121
    there is a hidden partion where i can reload it. where can i find it.
     
  4. uscitizen
    Offline

    uscitizen Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    45,943
    Thanks Received:
    4,786
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    My Shack
    Ratings:
    +4,796
    What version of windows are you using?
     
  5. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16,615
    Thanks Received:
    3,008
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +3,008
    you need to reboot, find the key to enter setup (f8 ?) and choose the repair/re-install option.
     
  6. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    943
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +121
    windows vista
     
  7. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16,615
    Thanks Received:
    3,008
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +3,008
    you could also contact your friend as he knows exactly what you have to do.
     
  8. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    943
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +121
    he died. can someone help. the partition is on the comp. someone must be able to help
     
  9. L.K.Eder
    Offline

    L.K.Eder unbannable non-troll

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    16,615
    Thanks Received:
    3,008
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    theartching thapphireth
    Ratings:
    +3,008

    sorry to hear that. i tried to help in one of my posts.

    you need to reboot and press a button, most probably f8 to enter the setup menu. from there you need to start the re-install.
     
  10. sarahgop
    Offline

    sarahgop VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    943
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +121
    i was looking through my box of discs. i found 3 discs bill made. they say compaq recovery disc1, disc2 and disc 3. will they work? if so, how do i use them to reload the comp? when would i put them in?
     

Share This Page