Eschatology Islam/ Christianity

Mr.Fitnah

Dreamcrusher
Jul 14, 2009
Paradise.
I think it would be instructive to do a comparison/contrast between the eschatology of Islam and Christianity .
I hope we can have a civil enjoyable chat.

I'm probably stepping in over my head on this one.

I'm a Christian, specifically Catholic. I'm still learning about my own religion and quite frankly don't buy into all the doctrines 100%. I realize this makes me what some call a "cafeteria Catholic", but frankly, I don't care.

As for a comparison/contrast of these religions as pertain to eschatology.....

Both believe in the after-life.

But is Islam as forgiving is Christianity? It seems to me it might be harder to achieve the status of Heaven in Islam.

According to the Qur'an, Jannah is attainable by many.

Those who believe and do good deeds, for them the Beneficent will surely bring about love. - 19:96

And as to those who believe and do good deeds, He will pay them fully their rewards. And Allah loves not the unjust. - 3:57

And as for those who believe and do good -- We impose not on any soul a duty beyond its scope -- they are the owners of the Garden; therein they abide. - 7:42​

This includes followers of other monotheistic religions.

Surely those who believe, and those who are Jews, and the Christians, and the Sabians, whoever believes in Allah and the Last Day and does good, they have their reward with their Lord, and there is no fear for them, nor shall they grieve. - 2:62​

Disbelievers who conduct themselves righteously may be included as well. Only Allah SWT can decide.

So he who does an atom’s weight of good will see it. - 99:7​

The Christian criterion seems narrow by comparison. Belief in the doctrine of sonship is apparently required:

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. - Jn. 3:16 (KJV)​