Computer freezes for 15 seconds every time I type in new url

Discussion in 'Computers' started by PoliticalChic, Jun 3, 2009.

1. PoliticalChic

PoliticalChic Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +25,063
    It doesn't happen all the time, but just enough to make it annoying. As long as I'm on one website I'm fine. But as soon as I type in a new web address in the URL box, it freezes for about 15 seconds before taking me there. Can I do anything to fix this?

2. KittenKoder

KittenKoder Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +1,714
    Try clearing your file cache on your browser (in the preferences) and setting the "disk usage" lower. Also, make note of if the site you are going to has Java or Flash applets, they can slow things down.

3. PoliticalChic

PoliticalChic Diamond Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +25,063
    KK, I'm not good with computers, can you tell me step-by-step how to do these things? I have trouble finding the right tabs. Thank you.

4. Diuretic

Diuretic Permanently confused

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +1,397
    PC your browser will allow you to empty the cache. You may have a tab or something with the word "tools" or similar on the toolbar. Click it and you should be able to find an option to empty the cache or clear private data or similar. If you can nominate your browser then another poster may be able to give you specific advice on where to look for it and what to do.

5. jgbkab

jgbkab Relieved

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +127
    For IE, click tools or "alt" + t, click delete browsing history, the click delete all. You can also delete the different sections individually.

Firefox, click tools ot "alt" + t, clear private data, check necessary boxes, the clear private data now.

6. KittenKoder

KittenKoder Senior Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +1,714