Can anyone help

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Wolfsblood, Aug 8, 2004.

  1. Wolfsblood
    Offline

    Wolfsblood Rookie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +2
    I am try to reinstall windows ME on a computer that had it on it before. I tuck the hard drive out before and used it in another computer as a second hard drive and reformatted it. Now i put it back in and I'm tiring to use the disks it came with but its not doing what the manual said it should do. Can anyone help. :blowup:
     
  2. Jackass
    Offline

    Jackass Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,969
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Va
    Ratings:
    +14
    Trying to use it as a master or a slave? Check jumper settings. Also, try and put it back into the old CP and see if it still works. Try formatting it in the old cpu.
     
  3. krisy
    Offline

    krisy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,919
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +112
    Thanks for the advice-we are going to try it(Wolf is my hubby)!!! He has been working all day on it so we have a computer for the kids.
     
  4. Trinity
    Offline

    Trinity VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,286
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +79
    Ok try this, first go to start, click on shut down, turn the computer off , unhook the keyboard, mouse, moniter and printer. unplug it from the wall, grab the tower from the bottom, pick it up, carry it down the stairs, go out the front door, set it in the yard, now go back in the house and get a hammer and beat the shit out of it, when your finished call dell. :banana:
     
  5. Said1
    Offline

    Said1 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,087
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere in Ontario
    Ratings:
    +937
    Not bad, but I think placing it in the middle of the road and listening to cars run over it all day long would be more satisfying. Thu - thump, thu-thump - thu-thump. Needless to say, I hear ya brother! :blowup:
     
  6. krisy
    Offline

    krisy Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,919
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +112
    Sounds like some good advice! He has been staying up very late trying to work on that damn thing and I can't hardly get his ass out of bed in the morning!!! Curses!!!!!!


    :cry: :whip:
     
  7. Shazbot
    Offline

    Shazbot Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    175
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston
    Ratings:
    +7
    What exactly are you doing, which the manual says you should do? Also, what exactly is happening when you do it? Might be (like Jackass said) that you have the actual harddisk set to "Slave" but are trying to install it as a "Master".

    -Douglas
     
  8. Democrat4Bush
    Offline

    Democrat4Bush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Orlando
    Ratings:
    +27
    Do yourself a favor, install XP or LinSphere. Both are far superior to ME.

    Hell, I don't even know if Microsoft supports ME anymore.
     
  9. Mr. P
    Offline

    Mr. P Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    11,329
    Thanks Received:
    618
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South of the Mason Dixon
    Ratings:
    +620
    I've had the same problem..It stems from one file in windows that remains despite
    the format.....that must be re-named so that your new windows app. doesn't see it.
    I'm sure there is a better way....but it worked for me.

    I'm sorry to say that at the moment I can't recall the file name, but....
    Go here for a fix....http://www.komando.com ask and they will help. For free.
     
  10. Fmr jarhead
    Offline

    Fmr jarhead Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,119
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SoFLA
    Ratings:
    +103
    i SHOULDA KNOWN YOU WERE A kIM FAN!!!!
     

Share This Page