Business owners: What obstacles has government imposed on you?

JoeNormal

VIP Member
Jun 9, 2012
I seriously hope this doesn't turn into a bashfest. I actually respect most small business owners. I'm interested in the experiences of those of you who feel you've persevered through excessive regulation to create a successful business.

Licensing, workman's comp (the biggest protection racket outside the FDA), state income taxation when I'm not a resident (the reason I won't accept work in NY), building officials that hassle me because I hire private subs rather than union lackeys, the ADA that makes me gut perfectly good bathrooms in order to comply....Those are just off the top of my head.

If Obloshevikcare doesn't get repealed, I will be closing down operations altogether.

Not a small business owner, but i work in IT. Sarbanes Oxley requires us to spend a lot of time on complying with audits on our SDLC procedures, not to mention all the up-front work it took to document and implement all those steps specifically for them. It also forced us to put more controls throughout the SDLC process which often leads to slower moving projects, which means fewer projects can get done cause time is spent on complying with procedure. Not to say that having a strict SDLC and complying with procedure consistently is bad but it does prevent a smallish/medium sized shop like ours from being agile in responding to business needs so we can grow the business.

Licensing, workman's comp (the biggest protection racket outside the FDA), state income taxation when I'm not a resident (the reason I won't accept work in NY), building officials that hassle me because I hire private subs rather than union lackeys, the ADA that makes me gut perfectly good bathrooms in order to comply....Those are just off the top of my head.

If Obloshevikcare doesn't get repealed, I will be closing down operations altogether.

Interesting concept.