Army suicides

According to the stats posted in the article, last year the military showed a suicide rate of 20.2 per 100,000. Latest stats from the general population showed a rate of 19.5 per 100,000 in 2005. We can probably assume that with the bad economy, that rate has also increased. Either way, there isn't a huge difference between the rate of suicide among military personnel versus the general population.

Large groups of people under stress tend to have higher suicide rates.

I don't think we should be surprised.

I had to deal with a lot of suicidal types while I was in (I was a neuro-psych tech working in a closed unit psych ward for over a year) and I watched plenty of Viet Nam era returnees kill themselves with drugs and alcohol after they were out, too.

This is fairly common outcome, folks, and not at all unique to this conflict.

• Banned
The 2008 numbers were the highest annual level of suicides among soldiers since the Pentagon began tracking the rate 28 years ago. The Army said 128 soldiers were confirmed to have committed suicide in 2008, and an additional 15 were suspected of having killed themselves. The statistics cover active-duty soldiers and activated National Guard and reserves.

You do realize that the private citizen numbers include people that are too unstable to be accepted into the military right?

Old , infirm, too young, mental hospital patients, drug addicts, brain damaged, burned and many many more people who could never become a military prersonel.

We are talking young healthy people when they went in and now there dead.

The 2008 numbers were the highest annual level of suicides among soldiers since the Pentagon began tracking the rate 28 years ago. The Army said 128 soldiers were confirmed to have committed suicide in 2008, and an additional 15 were suspected of having killed themselves. The statistics cover active-duty soldiers and activated National Guard and reserves.