Annoying Video Commercial on USMB

Discussion in 'Announcements and Feedback' started by The Professor, Jan 29, 2017.

  1. The Professor
    Offline

    The Professor Diamond Member Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14,062
    Thanks Received:
    19,712
    Trophy Points:
    2,385
    Ratings:
    +22,256
    Whats with the video commercial for Bring Out the Gentleman that appears all over USMB? I can't turn it off and it off and I hear it so often it's really irritating.

    It doesn't play just once. The damn thing keeps repeating. Also when I pass over the add and go on to another page on the thread, the page reverts to the page the ad was on and I hear it again.

    Can you please fix this thing.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2017
  2. Pogo
    Offline

    Pogo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    80,016
    Thanks Received:
    12,622
    Trophy Points:
    2,190
    Location:
    Carolinia Agresticia; the Forest Primeval
    Ratings:
    +37,896
    Ah, we still have one guy not running AdBlock!
     
  3. Kat
    Online

    Kat USMB Mod Staff Member Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    34,267
    Thanks Received:
    18,398
    Trophy Points:
    1,945
    Location:
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Ratings:
    +27,712
    I don't hear or see anything. I use all the blockers I can find...ie Ad Block.
     
  4. Kat
    Online

    Kat USMB Mod Staff Member Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    Messages:
    34,267
    Thanks Received:
    18,398
    Trophy Points:
    1,945
    Location:
    Sweet Home Alabama
    Ratings:
    +27,712

    Hi Pogo!
     
  5. The Professor
    Offline

    The Professor Diamond Member Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14,062
    Thanks Received:
    19,712
    Trophy Points:
    2,385
    Ratings:
    +22,256
    Everything is OK now.

    Thanks to all of you for telling me you had no problem because you had ad blocker. You made me realize the ad blocker I had previously installed was no longer working after I reinstalled Firefox.

    I actually didn't mind the ads except for the one where I couldn't get the guy to shut up.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  6. Missourian
    Offline

    Missourian Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    18,379
    Thanks Received:
    5,495
    Trophy Points:
    350
    Location:
    Missouri
    Ratings:
    +11,628
    I run Adblock Plus add-on for Mozilla.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. ChrisL
    Offline

    ChrisL Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    73,662
    Thanks Received:
    20,333
    Trophy Points:
    2,320
    Location:
    Wherever the wild things are!!
    Ratings:
    +48,471
    I use Google Chrome adblock plus and don't get any ads ever. I can even watch Youtube with no ads.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  8. Dogmaphobe
    Online

    Dogmaphobe Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    7,325
    Thanks Received:
    1,899
    Trophy Points:
    1,095
    Location:
    Or uh gun
    Ratings:
    +10,130
    "Bring out the Gentleman"?

    I suppose our cookies must be different. I keep getting ads for finding Latin Beauties and Russian Wives.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  9. The Professor
    Offline

    The Professor Diamond Member Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14,062
    Thanks Received:
    19,712
    Trophy Points:
    2,385
    Ratings:
    +22,256
    One thing is for sure: your cookies are better than mine.
     
  10. Ringel05
    Offline

    Ringel05 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,478
    Thanks Received:
    9,025
    Trophy Points:
    2,030
    Location:
    The 505
    Ratings:
    +23,731
    Whenever any browser with add on is reinstalled the all the add ons have to be reinstalled also. When Firefox updates it also checks to see if one's current add ons are compatible with the new version, if an add on is no longer compatible Firefox turns it off. If at a later date the add on is fixed to be compatible we have to go back in settings and reactivate the add on it's not automatic.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 2

Share This Page