About Time! Government Interference I CAN agree with!

Discussion in 'Science and Technology' started by Big Fitz, Dec 9, 2011.

1. Big Fitz

Big Fitz User Quit *****

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,475
    How researchers can shut down your mobile phone while you're driving | Mail Online

Most people here know my hate for gubmint interfering with freedom, but this is actually a very good thing.

As a professional driver I HATE HATE HATE HATE HATE cellphone using idiots behind the wheel of their car traveling down the road. This system is a Godsend if it works as planned and is on use of technology aided government interference I do agree with.

When you even SPEAK with a cell, your driving capability is equal to that as being legally drunk. Texting, even worse. I have witnessed two accidents in the space of weeks both easily related to cellphone use over driving.

Since people cannot control themselves and safely operate vehicles by giving them pretty much their entire attention, I'd see this as a good and reasonable use of the technology.

2. Mad Scientist

Mad Scientist Deplorable Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +7,684
    I hate it too Fitz. Nothing worse than an idiot tailgater yapping on her cell phone.

But it's really overstepping the gov'ts authority to shut down your cell phone when they deem it unsafe. In this case the gov't should fuck off.

Ticket for "Cell or Text while Driving"? Sure.
    Cops shut down your phone? No.

Last edited: Dec 9, 2011
  3. Big Fitz

Big Fitz User Quit *****

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +2,475
    well its become a quality of life issue for me who experiences about 1 close call a week due to work.

4. Photonic

Photonic Ad astra!

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +247
    How about the many new cars with bluetooth? Or even the old cars with the upgrade?

We should push for better and cheaper access to such things, instead of government regulation.

5. Big Fitz