A conservative who is for universal health care

Discussion in 'Healthcare/Insurance/Govt Healthcare' started by Michael44, Aug 20, 2009.

1. Michael44

Michael44 Rookie

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am a 43 year old conservative male. I am not a fan of Nancy Pelosi or Harry Reid. I didn't vote for Obama and I generally believe in the principle of liberty, personal responsibility and freedom. I am not for a welfare nanny state and I fully support capitalism etc etc.

Yet I find myself hoping that as a nation we can get some kind of universal health care. (am I being hypocritical because I am against a welfare state, well maybe)
    When I was a student back in the late 80's I applied to Blue Cross and Blue Shield for simple health insurance only to be denied because I was honest and put down ulcerative colitis in my health history. My colitis is a very rare form(thank goodness) where I have virtually no symptoms and no other problems related to it. I was told "off the record" by one insurance agent to just omit that. Here I was a 22 year old full time student who wasn't working at the time trying to get health insurance but couldn't.

Fast forward to about 6 years ago. I had just left a company about to be hired by another when I got struck with vertigo, vomiting and equilibrium problems and had to be seen at an emergency room. Well I had lost my insurance from my old job that I had just left and hadn't even started the new job yet which left me without insurance. So I was stuck with thousands of dollars of medical bills that now had to come out of my own pocket until the 3 month health insurance plan kicked in with my new job.

I just don't believe it's right for people to ever be denied health insurance for pre-existing conditions like I was or to have their backs broken financially because of circumstances not of their own doing.

Michael

• Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  2. veritas

veritas OBKB

Thanks Received:
    Ratings:
    +135